Road Marking excellence recognised at the 2018 RSMA Awards
Photo Credit To WJ UK

Road Marking excellence recognised at the 2018 RSMA Awards

Road Marking excellence recognised at the 2018 RSMA Awards

The Road Safety Markings Association (RSMA) gave widespread recognition to member companies and individuals for outstanding achievements at its annual Conference and RSMA Awards Ceremony yesterday.


This year, for the first time, the RSMA acknowledged the achievement of those individuals who have during the 12 months since the last Conference, completed successfully the RSMA Road Marking Apprentice Scheme. Present to collect their certificates were:

  • Ashleigh Bates Neil Evans Lucas Griffin Jordelle Henriques
  • Connor Kelly Chris Keppell Hafeez Nazir Greg Overthrow
  • Lee Reynolds Jordan Ridsdel Craig Thomas Ryan Weston
  • Roy Williams Liam Wykes


For the organisation with 50 or fewer employees that demonstrated an increased level of success over the last completed business year. Sponsored by Geveko; Presented by Henrik Basse

  • 2108 winner: Quality Marking Services

Enjoying an increased portfolio of clients and often achieving ‘nominated sub-contractor’ status, this company prides itself on the personal development of every member of its staff and being a stalwart supporter of charitable events. With a work ethic based on Commitment, Motivation, Determination, Achievement and Success they have continued to innovate and develop new systems for use within the road marking and surface treatment industry. Now accredited to ISO 9001, 14001 and 45001 standard.


For the supplier who has demonstrated exceptional service over the last business year. Sponsored by QMS; Presented by Greg Clark

  • 2108 winner: HITEX

According to the judges: “The winner of this award understands the key role of road marking products in creating safe and efficient transport infrastructure across the UK. Utilising the highest quality raw materials and manufacturing processes to achieve excellent outputs, they pride themselves on outstanding customer service and comprehensive technical support. Responding to customer needs quickly, this company aims to develop tailored solutions to suit the customer’s need in the shortest time possible whilst at the same time ensuring that no corner is cut. Hitex has an obvious desire to continue to improve the performance and sustainability of their products.”


For the organisation that has best demonstrated Health, Safety and Welfare, measured against RSMA Best Practice. Sponsored by Wilson & Scott; Presented by Stephen Scott

  • 2018 winner: WJ South

According to the judges: “Manual handling issues are common in most industries and the road marking sector is no different, with a risk of serious injury from regular lifting, the carrying and handling of materials and items of equipment. On large road contracts, this company uses specialist application vehicles supported by 32 tonne ‘feeder trucks’ carrying two large 1.5 tonne capacity thermoplastic heaters. Previously, the pre-heaters would need to be constantly loaded manually, but now this is done automatically.” This award is in recognition of the WJ Automatic Bag Loading Conveyor System.


For the organisation that has demonstrated the most innovative approach to either a specific roadmarking project or their business as a whole. Sponsored by Clearview Intelligence; Presented by Pete Cattell

  • 2018 winner: WJ Products

According to the judges: “Taking an innovative approach to support contractors, this company collaborated with a European manufacturer to develop a unique capability. The collaboration has resulted in the introduction of a 60cm robot pre-marker developed to replace manual pre-marking. Embracing autonomy and utilising GPS technology, this system has already been used to great effect on motorways and has significantly improved risk management for both personnel and plant, in addition to reducing the engineering time involved and as a result, cost.” This award is for the WJ Robotic PreMarker.

Judges of the RSMA 2018 Awards were Tony Scawthon and Steve Betteridge – both members of the National Sector Scheme #7 Committee.

Post source : Road Safety Markings Association

About The Author

Anthony has worked in the construction industry for many years and looks forward to bringing you news and stories on the highways industry from all over the world.

Related posts