Over 60 US companies earn Awards for Safety and Project Outcomes

Over 60 US companies earn Awards for Safety and Project Outcomes

Over 60 US companies earn Awards for Safety and Project Outcomes

At the recent Construction Awards Banquet, that notion was on full display as many of the region’s top builders earned recognition for their outstanding performances across many incredible projects.

The awards were presented by the Northwest Indiana Business RoundTable (NWIBRT) and the Construction Advancement Foundation (CAF), who jointly hold their annual awards celebrations. Representatives from NIPSCO, U.S. Steel, Cargill, and many more leading companies, were in attendance.

Awards were given for excellence in safety standards, innovation, and development in the construction industry for a variety of projects, contractors, and companies. Past winners have included some of the largest construction investments in Indiana history.

“As an industry, Northwest Indiana construction has been evolving rapidly. Builders are consistently facing new challenges with a determination to succeed, and we’re proud of them,” said Dewey Pearman, executive director of CAF.

“Many companies seized every opportunity they could last year, and we’re proud of what they’ve accomplished. Companies took a hard look at their safety protocols and found ways to make the necessary adjustments, while still coming up with new ways to keep people protected from construction hazards,” said NWIBRT Safety Committee Chair and Cargill Health & Safety Manager Rick A. Foor.

Valdes Engineering earned the Company of the Year award.
Valdes Engineering earned the Company of the Year award.
Solid Platforms earned the Contractor of the Year award.
Solid Platforms earned the Contractor of the Year award.

2020 NWIBRT Safety Award Recipients

Contractor of the Year

  • Solid Platforms, Inc.

Company of the Year

  • Valdes Engineering Company

Owner Excellence in Leadership

  • Cargill

Innovation Award

  • Falk PLI Engineering and Surveying

Outstanding Craft Persons Safety Leader Award

  • Brian Mielczarek, Barton Malow
  • Jason Hatch, BMWC Constructors Inc.
  • Jason Hayes, Cargill
  • Mitchel Porter, Cargill
  • Jim Jones, CORE Construction
  • Drago Popovic, DLZ Industrial
  • Laura Asher, Fluor Constructors
  • Dan Marin, Graycor
  • Kevin Cooper, Korellis Roofing, Inc.
  • Lance Fuller, Milestone Contractors, L.P.
  • Dane Yagelski, Milestone Contractors, L.P.
  • Tobias Sepulveda, Petrochem Insulation, Inc.
  • Jesse Johnson, Sargent Electric Company
  • Jeff Miller, Sargent Electric Company
  • John Tuskan, Sargent Electric Company
  • Blaine Brooks, SEI Solutions LLC
  • Bryan Towner, Solid Platforms Inc.
  • Paul Armstrong, Superior Construction
  • Mike Klemp, Superior Construction
  • John Webber, The Pangere Corp.
  • Dennis Nowaczyk, Tonn & Blank Construction
  • Chris Baccino, Valdes Engineering Company

Certificates of Appreciation

  • Rick Foor, Cargill, Incorporated – Hammond
  • Patrick Johnson, Pekron Consulting Inc.
  • Jim Arendas, Construction Advancement Foundation
  • Kaley Kostelnik, Total Safety U.S., Inc.
  • Scott DelRio, Brock Industrial Services
  • Brian Fordon, Valdes Engineering Company
  • Pete Engelbert, K2 Industrial Services, Inc.
  • Shoji Nakayama, Purdue University Northwest

Recognition Award

  • Continental Electric Company
  • EMCOR Hyre Electric Company of IN.
  • Executive Construction Inc.
  • Hasse Construction Company, Inc.
  • M.J. Electric, LLC
  • Morrison Construction Co.
  • Rieth-Riley Construction
  • Superior Construction
  • Tonn and Blank Construction LLC

Achievement Award

  • Amex Nooter LLC
  • AMS Mechanical Systems
  • BMWC Constructors Inc.
  • Falk PLI Engineering and Surveying
  • Fluor Constructors – Suncoke
  • Hard Rock Concrete Cutters, Inc.
  • Hayes Mechanical
  • Meade Industries
  • Mersino Dewatering
  • Nooter Construction Company
  • Sargent Electric Co.
  • Superior Engineering LLC

Excellence Award

  • ACMS Group
  • Advanced Engineering Services
  • ATC Group Services LLC
  • Brock Industrial Services LLC
  • Fluor Constructors – Cargill
  • Luse Thermal Technologies
  • Meccon Industries Inc.
  • Middough Inc.
  • N.A. Logan, Inc.
  • One Way Safety
  • Orbital Engineering, Inc.
  • Petrochem Insulation
  • R. J. Mycka, Inc.
  • Solid Platforms, Inc.
  • Stevenson Crane Service, Inc.
  • The Ross Group, Inc.
  • Total Mill Services, Inc.
  • Total Safety US Inc.
  • Valdes Engineering Company

2021 CAF Award Winners

Contractor of the Year

  • Commercial Contractor of the Year: The Pangere Corporation
  • Industrial Contractor of the Year: Hasse Construction Co. Inc.
  • Specialty Contractor of the Year: Hampton Ironworks, Inc.
  • Professional and Engineering Services Contractor of the Year: DLZ Industrial, LLC
  • Highway Contractor of the Year: Superior Construction Co., Inc.

Project of the Year

  • Industrial/Capital Project of the Year: Hasse Construction Co. Inc., NIPSCO Black Start
  • Commercial Project of the Year: Tonn & Blank Construction, LLC, Franciscan Beacon Hospital
  • Public Works Project of the Year: Berglund Construction, Purdue University Northwest Nils K. Nelson Bioscience Innovation Building

Excellence in Professional Development Award

  • Jon Gilmore, President and CEO of Tonn & Blank Construction, LLC

Post source : Northwest Indiana Business RoundTable

About The Author

Anthony has worked in the construction industry for many years and looks forward to bringing you news and stories on the highways industry from all over the world.

Related posts