Nominations announced for this years Highways Awards
Photo Credit To Paulio Geordio

Nominations announced for this years Highways Awards

Nominations announced for this years Highways Awards

The shortlist for this year’s Highways Awards (formerly Highways Magazine Excellence Awards) has been announced, ahead of the ceremony on Wednesday 17 October.

Winners will be revealed at a gala evening at the Lancaster London hosted by former Formula 1 McLaren pity crew mechanic and motivational speaker, Marc Priestley.

The Highways Awards is organised by Highways magazine and SMART Highways magazine and supported by: Dft, the Department of Regional Development, Highways England, Transport Scotland, Infrastructure Northern Ireland, Institute of Highways Engineers (IHE), ITS (UK) and the Welsh Assembly Government.

This year’s shortlist is as follows:

Highway Industry Product of the Year – Sponsored by: Platinum sponsor Shell Bitumen

  • A one +, Integrated Highway Services, Road Mole & Highways England
  • Roadmender Asphalt (division of Billian UK Ltd), Kier Highways Ltd
  • Hitex International Group
  • Tarmac, Amey & RSL Fabrications

Highways Partnership Award – Sponsored by: WJ Group

  • Kier, Suffolk County Council and S-Skills
  • Amey, Scottish Boarders and NHS Boarders
  • Southampton City Council and Balfour Beatty Living Places

Road Marking Project of the Year – Sponsored by: Road Safety Markings Association

  • Clearview Intelligence with Amey, Transport Scotland and Edinburgh University.
  • Highways England, Clearview Intelligence and WJ Group
  • Hitex International Group

Site Safety Initiative Award – Sponsored by: Connor Construction (South West)

  • Vision Techniques, Aggregate Industries, Munihire and DE Plant,
  • Carnell Support Services and Kier Highways
  • Jacobs, Transport Scotland, Scotland Transerv, Sibbald Ltd

Team of the Year – Sponsored by: Platinum sponsor Mway Comms

  • A-One+ Integrated Highway Services, Highways England
  • Kier Highways and Surrey County Council
  • Scotland TranServ Strategic Road Safety Team

Apprentice of the Year – Sponsored by: Institute of Highways Engineers

  • Alice Dimaline-Lincolnshire County Council Highways Alliance
  • Ryan McClean-Mway Comms
  • Georgie Power-Suffolk Highways
  • Rose Spicer-Staffordshire County Council
  • Dan Wright-Tarmac

Award for Best Use of New Technology in the Highways Industry – Sponsored by: Geobear

  • Transport Scotland, Amey, Rennicks (UK) Ltd
  • Crown Highways Limited and Wheely Safe
  • Kier Highways Ltd, Highways Resources Solutions Ltd, Chevron TM Ltd
  • MATtest Southern Ltd, Aggregate Industries UK Ltd (Automated Intelligent Testing)
  • Atkins, a member of SNC-Lavalin Group, Highways England, Connect Plus Services, Jackson Civil Engineering, Navtech Radar, Mway Comms, CUBIC, Dynniq.

Award for Environmental Sustainability in the Highways Sector – Sponsored by: Platinum sponsor Total Bitumen

  • Connect Plus, Connect Plus Services, Osborne, Highways England,
  • A-one+ Integrated Highway Services, CR Civil Engineering ltd, Highways England
  • A-one+ Integrated Highway Services, Doncaster Royal Engineers Association, Highways England,
  • Bouygues E&S Infrastructure, and Kent County Council
  • Scotland TranServ/Transport Scotland: M8 Highmast LED Replacement Programme
  • SNC lavalin’s Atkins

Highways Maintenance Efficiency Award – Sponsored by: Kier

  • TRL Ltd, Costain, Balfour Beatty VINCI, Carillion Morgan Sindall, WSP, Highways England
  • Lincolnshire County Council Highways Alliance
  • Tarmac and Norfolk County Council
  • Tarmac Trading Ltd, Aggregate Industries & Hanson Highways, Highways England

Major Project Award – Sponsored by: Tarmac

  • Morrison Construction, Hochtief, American Bridge, Jacobs, Arup, Sweco, Ramboll, Transport Scotland
  • Staffordshire County Council, Amey Consulting, Amey Highways, Nurton Developments, Curral Lewis and Martin Constructions Ltd
  • Transport for London, Kier Highways
  • Transport Scotland, Scottish Roads Partnership, Ferrovial Lagan Joint Venture, Amey, Mouchel Fairhurst Joint Venture(a joint venture of WPS and Fairhurst)

Road Safety Scheme of the Year – Sponsored by: Keysoft Solutions

  • Department for Infrastructure, Eastern Division
  • SNC Lavalin’s Atkins

Most Innovative Highways Scheme of the Year – Sponsored by: Tripod Crest

  • A-one+ Integrated Highway Services, Delta Block UK, CR Civil Engineering Ltd, Highways England
  • A-one+ Integrated Highway Services, Highways England
  • City of London Corporation with Macleod Simmonds Ltd,
  • Scotland TranServ/Transport Scotland: Smart Thinking, Bright Future – Transforming the M8 with Smart Lighting

The Judges’ Special Merit Award, sponsored by Archway Products will be announced on the night and will be awarded to any of the above shortlisted entries. The Highways Awards’ other on-the-night sponsor is Mobile VMS.

Jonathan Pearson, Head Judge and President of the IHE said: “The judging for these awards becomes more difficult every year as the standard of entries increases and this year is no different. The short-listed entries are a fine collection of individuals, companies and partnerships that make you proud to be a part of the highways industry.”

Adrian Tatum, Events Producer for the Highway Awards said: “Once again the entries demonstrate the sector’s intent on continuing to drive best practice, innovation and efficiency across the industry.”

The Official Charity Partner for the Highways Awards gala evening will be the Lighthouse Club.

Visit the website for more information and to book your table.

Post source : Highways Awards

About The Author

Anthony has worked in the construction industry for many years and looks forward to bringing you news and stories on the highways industry from all over the world.

Related posts